Community Awards Gala

2018 Community Awards will be on Thursday April 19 at the Lido!
Nominate Today!

The 2018 Community Awards Gala will take place on Thursday April 19, 2018, at the Lido Theatre. Live entertainment was provided by Adam Winn, and special guest speakers: Doung Petersen. 

We are looking for your help in nominating people:

Cultural Award

The Cultural Award recognizes an individual or a group for their volunteer efforts in historical, visual, performing, or literary arts. Individuals may demonstrate excellence in an artistic field, increase artistic and cultural opportunities within the community, or encourage local residents to reach and expand their potential through culture.
2017 Winner: Russell Eggleston

Recreation Award

The Recreation Award recognizes an individual or a group for their volunteer efforts in the promotion, organization, support, and/or motivation of sports, recreation, and leisure pursuits including healthy and active living. Individuals may demonstrate excellence in an athletic discipline, increase sport and recreational opportunities within the community, encourage local residents to reach and expand their potential through recreation and wellness by promoting healthy lifestyles, personal well-being and health in Fort St. John.
2017 Winner: Bo Hedges

Literacy Award

The Literacy Award recognizes special contributions of an individual or group that has made an outstanding contribution towards promoting in areas including literacy, language, multiculturalism and community issues in Fort St. John.  The award covers a wide spectrum of the field, including family, health, workplace and community.
2017 Winner: Morgan Churchill

Humanitarian Award

The Humanitarian Award recognizes an individual or a group of volunteers whose actions, commitment, volunteer leadership, service and community spirit have made a difference in the lives of those in the community. It recognizes initiatives that serve to promote awareness of accessibility in the community, outstanding contribution towards promoting or facilitating resource reduction, or demonstrate a genuine commitment to providing a better future for the lives of our residents.
2017 Winner: Faisal Rashid

Youth Award

The Youth an individual under the age of 19 who has made a positive contribution to the community on a volunteer basis such as developing a project, serving on a committee and/or other volunteer work with organizations and groups.  Youth in this category may display outstanding qualities, provide leadership, support their peers, overcome challenges and/or contribute to their community in a meaningful way.
2017 Winner: Mustafa Faisal

Mayor’s Citizen of the Year

The Mayor’s Citizen of the Year Award recognizes an individual that has achieved positive notoriety outside our community for their actions, is recognized as leaders or role models by their peers, or has won international, national, or provincial titles or awards for their efforts. The recipient acts as an ambassador for our community and has recognized Fort St. John as their home and the community where they built and honed their skills and abilities.
2017 Winner: Cindy Dettling

Sponsorship Opportunities

If your company and/or organization would like to become a sponsor for the Community Awards held annually please contact the Community Development Coordinator at   



Questions or Comments?

Contact: Community Development
Phone: 250.787.5791