Past Elections Results

2021 By-Election

On January 13, 2021, Councillor Grimsrud provided a letter of resignation from Council effective January 14, 2021. Since this resignation didn't fall within the same year as a general local government election, a by-election was required.

The 2021 By-Election was held on May 15, 2021, where Councillor Jim Lequiere was elected. Voter turnout was 1,240 or 8% of eligible voters. 

2018 Local Government General Election

October 20, 2018 was local government election day in British Columbia. 

Mayor Ackerman was elected by acclamation and the public was notified of this on September 24, 2018.

There were 12 candidates for six Councillor positions.  Council received the Official Election Results [PDF - 547 KB] at the Regular Council Meeting on October 22, 2018.  Councillors Bolin, Grimsrud, Hansen, Klassen, Stewart and Zabinsky were elected.  The Oath of Office took place on November 5, 2018, at 5:30 pm in Council Chambers.

The voter turnout was 2,861 which was 20% based on the number of eligible voters calculated by Elections BC on April 20, 2018 at 14,479.  There is a discrepancy in the number of eligible voters between Elections BC and BC Stats.  BC Stats reports a number of eligible voters at 14,910.  The City has always used Elections BC to ascertain the number of voters, thus using BC Stats would skew the voter percentage turnout.

Overall, the City ranked lowest in the region again for elector turnout. In the region, Hudson's Hope and Pouce Coupe did not have mayoral races either although received 32% and 36% voter turnout. CivicInfo reported that the average voter turnout for BC was 35.6% so the City is still under the average. That being said, the voter turnout was higher than in the 2014 election which was 15%.

Past Elections Official Results