NENAS - Youth Health & Wellness Program

Description: 

The Cuystwi (cwoo wheesh twee) program evolved from conversations with First Nations in northern British Columbia about their concerns regarding youth suicide. It was suggested that if youth could have a platform to explore their identities and cultures as Indigenous peoples, as well as understand colonization and how the on-going cumulative impacts affect our people and families, that they may have a stronger foundation to depend on when encountering difficult periods in their lives. The Cuystwi quests emphasize themes of identity, culture, understanding colonization, tools to deal with racism, healthy relationships, sexual health, and an invitation to become a young warrior. The quests have an on-line component meant to introduce topics to be facilitated to Indigenous youth by youth workers, health workers, and educators within existing community programming.

For youth 14 - 18 years of age.

This FREE!

For more information contact Julie at 250-785-0887 or email familyprogram@nenas.org .

Event Type: 
Community Events
Event Tags: 
Arts & Culture
From TownWall
Youth
Location: 
NENAS 10328-101 Avenue
Event Date(s): 
Repeats every week every Tuesday until Tue Mar 20 2018.
Tuesday, September 19, 2017 - 16:00 to 18:00
Tuesday, September 26, 2017 - 16:00 to 18:00
Tuesday, October 3, 2017 - 16:00 to 18:00
Tuesday, October 10, 2017 - 16:00 to 18:00
Tuesday, October 17, 2017 - 16:00 to 18:00
Tuesday, October 24, 2017 - 16:00 to 18:00
Tuesday, October 31, 2017 - 16:00 to 18:00
Tuesday, November 7, 2017 - 16:00 to 18:00
Tuesday, November 14, 2017 - 16:00 to 18:00
Tuesday, November 21, 2017 - 16:00 to 18:00
Tuesday, November 28, 2017 - 16:00 to 18:00
Tuesday, December 5, 2017 - 16:00 to 18:00
Tuesday, December 12, 2017 - 16:00 to 18:00
Tuesday, December 19, 2017 - 16:00 to 18:00
Tuesday, December 26, 2017 - 16:00 to 18:00
Tuesday, January 2, 2018 - 16:00 to 18:00
Tuesday, January 9, 2018 - 16:00 to 18:00
Tuesday, January 16, 2018 - 16:00 to 18:00
Tuesday, January 23, 2018 - 16:00 to 18:00
Tuesday, January 30, 2018 - 16:00 to 18:00
Tuesday, February 6, 2018 - 16:00 to 18:00
Tuesday, February 13, 2018 - 16:00 to 18:00
Tuesday, February 20, 2018 - 16:00 to 18:00
Tuesday, February 27, 2018 - 16:00 to 18:00
Tuesday, March 6, 2018 - 16:00 to 18:00
Tuesday, March 13, 2018 - 16:00 to 18:00
Tuesday, March 20, 2018 - 16:00 to 18:00